Behind every smooth-running team is a great office manager, bringing organisation, sound problem-solving skills and a sense of calm to the workplace. 

At LW Developments, our office manager Denise Tarpey is an invaluable asset. A master of co-ordination and a source of endless support, she is also a mum of two, somehow juggling all her responsibilities at home and work in admirable style. 

As we approach EveryWoman Day on September 22, we set the spotlight on Denise and asked her about work/life balance, what she loves about her job and how she likes to relax in her spare time. Spoiler: that may involve cocktails. 

 What do you love most about your job?  

I started working with LW in April 2022, and I love watching the beautiful homes that LW create go up. The homes LW build are stunning and in the most amazing locations.  

When I started here, a lot of the first phase had been completed. However, the second phase had just got under way and seeing the buildings transform week by week – it’s really exciting to see the end product. 

 How do you balance your work and home life?  

I work part time – two and a half days a week. I’m a mum to two young boys as well, so it’s really important for me to still be able to have a good amount of time with them, but to also be able to carry on and have a career. I’d like to think I bring some organisation to the office and I am always happy to help with any task asked of me. 

Have you faced many challenges during your career as a woman and how did you overcome them? 

I think any obstacles I’ve faced began once I’d had my children. It can be quite difficult to juggle the childcare and find a job that fits in with your home life.  

Being a working mum there are times, for example, when the kids are ill, and I am unable to leave them. It can be inconvenient but that comes with the role of being a working mum.  

I’ve been lucky here that they have been very understanding.  

 Who has been the biggest influence or role model in your career? 

It may sound a little cheesy, but it has to be my mum. Growing up she has always worked full and part-time.  

When it gets tricky with childcare and work, I always remember that, if she managed to do it while looking after us, I know I can too.  

Even now she still works part-time and helps with childcare to enable me to come to work. 

 And finally, what is your favourite thing to do outside of work? 

Spending time with my husband and boys. A long walk, pub lunch and then home to snuggle up and watch a film is a perfect day for me.  

Failing that, cocktails at a bottomless brunch with the girls is another firm favourite of mine. 


Dean Williamson

Dean Williamson MRICS